Are you stuck? In mud, maybe concrete (you might be screwed), or perhaps quicksand and you are going down fast! Many educators are in the same situation as you and I, if I am being honest. When you hear those four little words, twenty-first century learner, do you also swallow hard while your pulse begins to beat rapidly? The first question that is always asked is, "How do you expect me to do
that?" I have accepted the fact that since I am entering into my 4th year of teaching that I, along with many others, must learn to adapt to this technology, change, and embrace it. 

First things first, what do you think it means to be a twenty-first century learner? I automatically picture my now grown and college bound, 18 year old sister, Tabitha. I think of her mainly because I am not a typical sister but instead a surrogate mother that is, as she would put it, "in her business." I have seen her struggle in the many transitions that have challenged her, such as new standards, a shift in technology, and her too many to count math teachers (close to 9, I think). I believe a twenty-first century learner means someone who is
tech savvy, someone who can maneuver programs, someone who can keep up with the ever changing social media networks, because as this generation will put it, "there's an app for that!" This describes my students that enter my room on a daily basis. Those eager little eyes willing to learn new concepts but unable to because we, as educators, struggle to keep up with the technology that is "floating" around on the web.
 
So here is my solution...I will be your gateway to the world of the unknown. I am always finding and using programs and websites to better the technology used in my classroom. Some of you might ask, "is it hard?", "what works?", "what doesn't work?" Here is where you can be introduced to new ideas, and from there, the possibilities are unlimited. I will give you an overview of a "product" (program
or site), guide you through how to get set up, and then tell you how I use it, what benefits it has given my students, and from there, the rest is up to you!

First project is to come... Edmodo (a classroom version of Facebook!)
Tiffany
6/5/2013 07:22:21 am

This is a good idea. Are you planning on doing this on your blog? I wonder if you created a separate page for these with links to a printable document might be the way to go. You may already be planning to do this, and I'd be curious to see what you come up with. Thanks for sharing and keep us posted!

Reply
Ashley
6/5/2013 10:31:53 am

Yes Tiffany I am! Hopefully I can figure how to link it all together!

Reply
Eddie
6/5/2013 12:16:38 pm

I get some of my best classroom ideas, not from published English teacher gurus, but from your typical classroom teacher who shares their successes (and failures too) on their blogs. I've wanted to start to do the same, so maybe we can encourage each other.

Also, I'm curious to try out Edmodo too. I signed up for an account last year, but never did anything with it.

And... great use of the 2nd person "you." I felt like you were talking directly to ME. :)

Reply
Ashley
6/5/2013 12:21:44 pm

Eddie, I love me some edmodo! I use it almost daily. I will help you get set up over the next 3 weeks :)

Reply
Caitlin
6/9/2013 03:57:20 am

We set up Edmodo accounts last year for teachers. I think it is a great way to communicate especially school to school. The Kindergarten teachers in the county have a group and we use it to throw out ideas, plan meetings, etc. It would be interesting for students to use it! We are lucky they are so obsessed with social networking because they actually want to do things like Edmodo!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    June 2013

    http://anmcke2.edu.glogster.com/my-sister-tabs

    Categories

    All